Sepia

One of my favorite poets has finally joined the ranks of WP! Be sure you check out his first post here and as always, write on, my friends!

Exponential Epigram

this was a dream
twelfth avenue, stop sign
street corner hill
on foot though
stopping to rest
sort through my bag
priceless notebooks
poetic scribblings, loose leaf
shoulder strap must have
dug a track

doubled over in sorting
approached by a stranger
wanted something from me
closer now, yes
it was my shoes
“want those” pointing, he said
without asking
inexpensively decent
green white tennis lace-ups
give them up, sure
“but to walk the hill barefoot?
where do you live?”
to the stranger, asked I
a hand raised dismissal
“don’t answer that”
(he wouldn’t have anyhow)
bending to untie
“Stop!”  he said
then a second stranger
emerged

swiftly with a thieving deftness
slipped off the left shoe
accosted and unbalanced, I
bent to remove the other
“Stop!”
third stranger, a shadow
these three youths meant to
harm me
grabbing up my bag
to hold as ransom
as the first boy

View original post 298 more words

Leave a Reply

