“Alien”

Repeatedly, I was told
“The rest of the world
can’t be the problem,
the problem must be you.”
As a child, I
considered this wisdom
and attempted to fix the
unknown malfunction

Am I so different,
or difficult, so foreign that
communication is impossible
and understanding is but theory
It seems unlikely
yet equally undeniable

As I have grown older,
wiser, myself-
doubt forms a question
deductive reasoning dissects
collected samples-
memories, observations
truth is evident
plainly displayed
not unlike the sterile accuracy of
arithmetic
and I know that truly,
I am alone.

© M. Black, 2016 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

