“Dear Doubting Thomas”

Wrote a piece today
not really sure why
maybe you’ll like it
maybe that’s why
if only it were so simple
as seeking approval
then success could be determined
with a smile, kind word
and I would not have this feeling
like I’m treading water
waiting for the wave
that only I know is coming
the secret, the song,
yet unheard, toying with me,
my resolve
waiting for something
I’ve yet to complete
not ready, not yet
maybe never
Still, my feet paddle tirelessly
and my eyes are fixed
on the horizon

© M. Black, 2016 All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on ““Dear Doubting Thomas”

Leave a Reply

