“Counter-productivity”

it’s almost midnight
and I’m hungry
but
I just got home
from a long day’s work
and I’m unwilling
to face the cold again
for a disappointing drive-thru trek
besides, I am expected
to clock back in
at 9 am,
so winding down seems wise
allow the bed to call me home
but then
a sound diverts my attention
and I realize that I must have
turned the coffeepot on
to reheat morning leftover

and realize
even subconsciously, I
seem intent on thwarting my own plans

© M. Black, 2017 All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on ““Counter-productivity”

Leave a Reply

